About Faculty of Languages and Literature

The Faculty of Languages and Literature was established in the year 1997. The Faculty has four departments namely Department of English, Department of Urdu, Department of Persian and Centre of Excellence for Modern Languages (CEML). Departments of English and Urdu offer undergraduate and graduate programmes such as BS, MA, MS/M.Phil and PhD. Department of Persian offer BS, MA and MS. The Centre of Excellence offers short and diploma courses in English, Urdu, Persian and Chinese along with regional languages such as Pashto, Punjabi, Balochi, Brahvi, Sindhi and Saraiki.
The mission of Faculty of Languages and Literature is to educate the citizens and citizen-leaders for our society. The Faculty aims for a quality learning experience for the students and quality training for the faculty by providing excellence in education within our socio-cultural framework, bringing forth benefit to students, community and the country. We do this through our commitment to the transformative power of diverse literature and liberal arts.
We are proud to develop state-of-the-art learning services as support for teachers in the form of lesson plans, continuous professional development, in-house designed curriculum, and vigorous co-curricular and extra-curricular programs that enrich the educational experience of our students.
Moreover, in the classroom, with exposure to new ideas, new ways of understanding and new ways of knowing, students embark on a journey of intellectual transformation. This will help to change their lives by gaining a sense of what they want to do with their abilities and talents, assessing their values and interests, and learning how they can best serve their respective countries and the world.
Faculty of Languages and Literature is committed to creating and sustaining the conditions that enable all the students to experience an unparalleled educational journey that is intellectually, socially, and personally transformative.
The Faculty of Languages and Literature was established in the year 1997. Since then, the following faculty members served as Deans, Faculty of Languages & Literature.
Prof. Dr. Rajaa Jabr July 2005 September 1997
Prof. Dr. Qabil Khan August 2005 December 2005
Prof. Dr. Muhammad Sadeeq Shibli January 2006 July 2007
Prof. Farhat Mujataba August 2007 July 2008
Prof. Fateh Muhammad Malik July 2008 March  2009
Prof. Dr. Mahmoud A.A. Sharafuddin April 2009 December 2009
Prof. Dr. Moinuddin Aqeel January 2010 October 2010
Prof. Dr. Rasheed Amjad November 2010 February 2012
Prof. Dr. Mahmoud Hassan Makhlouf March 2012 June 2012
Prof. Dr. Munawar Iqbal Ahmad July 2012 December 2018
Prof. Dr. Ayaz Afsar January 2019 February 2021
Prof. Dr. Najeeba Arif February 2021 to date
Prof. Dr. Najeeba Arif
Dean, Faculty of Languages & Literature
Phone: +92-51-9257972 Fax: +92-51-9247924
Email: [email protected]