The Academic Council is the academic body of the University and subject to the provisions of this Ordinance and the Statutes have the power to lay down proper standards of instruction, research and examinations and to regulate and promote the academic life of the University.

The Academic Council advised the Board of Governors on academic matters and exercises such powers and performs such duties as may be assigned to it by the Board of Governors and those prescribed by the Statutes. The Academic Council consisting of the following members:-


President, IIU (Chairman)
1.         Prof. Dr. Ahmad Yousif A. Al-Draiweesh,
            President, IIU, Islamabad

Vice-President, IIU (Members)
2.         Vice-President (HS&R), IIU, Islamabad.

3.         Prof. Dr. Muhammad Bashir Khan,
            Vice-President (Academics), IIU, Islamabad.

Directors General (Members)

4.         Mr. Khalid Mahmood Raja,
            Acting Director General (AF&P), IIU, Islamabad

Dean, of the Faculties (Members)

5.         Prof. Dr. Ahmad Yousif A. Al-Draiweesh,
            Faculty of Usuluddin (Islamic Studies),
            IIU, Islamabad

6.         Prof. Dr. Muhammad Tahir Hakeem,
            Faculty of Shariah & Law,
            IIU, Islamabad

7.         Prof. Dr. Masoom Yasinzai,
            Rector IIU & Dean,
            Faculty of Management Sciences
            IIU, Islamabad

8.         Prof. Dr. Nabi Bux Jumani,
            Faculty of Social Sciences
            IIU, Islamabad

9.         Dr. Hafiz Muhammad Bashir,
            Acting Dean,
            Faculty of Arabic
            IIU, Islamabad

10.       Prof. Dr. Muhammad Sher,
            Faculty of Basic Sciences and Faculty of Computing & Information Technology
            IIU, Islamabad

11.       Prof. Dr. Aqdas Naveed Malik,        
            Faculty of Engineering and Technology
            IIU, Islamabad

12.       Dr. Munawar Iqbal Ahmed Gondal,
            Acting Dean,
            Faculty of Languages & Literature,
            IIU, Islamabad.

Directors of Institutes (Members)
13.       Prof. Dr. Mumtaz Ahmad,
            Executive Director, IRD
            IIU, Faisal Masjid Campus, Islamabad

14.       Prof. Dr. Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq,
            Islamic Research Institute, IIU, Islamabad

15.       Dr. Eatzaz Ahmed,
            International Institute of Islamic Economics, IIU, Islamabad

16.       Dr. Muhammad Aamir,
            Acting Director (QEC),
            IIU, Islamabad – (Non voting member)

Professor Emeritus / Professors (Members)
17.       Prof. Dr. Zafar Ishaq Ansari,
            Professor Emeritus,
            IIU, Faisal Masjid Campus, Islamabad

18.       Dr. Farkanda Zia (On leave),
            Professor, Shariah & Law
            Female Campus, IIU, Islamabad

19.       Prof. Dr. Ahmad Jan,
            Professor, Faculty of Usuluddin (Islamic Studies)
            IIU, Islamabad

20.       Prof. Dr. Muhammad Irfan Khan,
            Department of Environmental Science,
            Faculty of Basic & Applied Sciences, IIU, Islamabad

21.       Prof. Dr. Zafar M. Khalid,
            Professor (Bioinformatics/Biotechnology),
            Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences,
            IIU, Islamabad.

22.       Prof. Dr. Muhammad Afzal Khan,
            Faculty of Engineering & Technology,
            IIU, Islamabad.

23.       Prof. Dr. Mohammad al Ghazali,
            Professor, Islamic Research Institute,
            IIU, Islamabad

24.       Prof. Dr. Muhammad Amir,
            Professor, Faculty of Engineering & Technology,
            IIU, Islamabad

25.       Prof. Dr. Abdul Tawab Alakrat,
            Professor, Faculty of Arabic,
            IIU, Islamabad

26.       Prof. Dr. Abdul Hameed,
            Professor (CIRD), Faculty of Basic & Applied Sciences,
            IIU, Islamabad

Two teachers to be appointed by the Rector, IIU (Members)

27.       Dr. Waqar Adil Syed,
            Associate Professor/Chairman,
            Department of Physics, 
            Faculty of Basic & Applied Sciences,
            IIU, Islamabad

28.       Dr. Samina Yasmin Malik,
            Female Campus,
            IIU, Islamabad

Two eminent scholar to be nominated by the BOG (Members)

29.       Mrs. Razina Alam Khan,
            Ex-Senator Senate of Pakistan,
            House No-1, Golf Road Rawalpindi Cantt.

30.       Prof. Dr. Azra Khanum,
            Department of Biochemistry,
            University of Arid Agriculture, Rawalpindi

One of the Dean or Director appointed by the President (Secretary)
31.       Dr. Muhammad Tahir Khalily,   
            Director, (Academics), IIU, Islamabad

  You are visitor number: 69267277